Contact a Humanities Office or Academic unit.
Find your course outlines.

Faculty & Staff


Cassandra Weimann, Graduate Administrative Assistant
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.27575
Office: Togo Salmon Hall 331


Distinguished University Professor

Lorraine York, B.A., M.A., Ph.D. (McMaster) / Senator William McMaster Chair in Canadian Literature and Culture


Christina Baade, B.Mus. (Northwestern), M.Mus., Ph.D. (Wisconsin‐Madison) / University Scholar
Sarah Brophy
, B.A. (Wilfrid Laurier), M.A., Ph.D. (McMaster)
Chandrima Chakraborty, B.A. (Calcutta), M.A., M.Phil.  (Jawaharlal Nehru), Ph.D. (York) / University Scholar
Daniel Coleman, B.Ed., M.A. (Regina), Ph.D. (Alberta)
Henry Giroux, B.S. (Maine), M.A. (Appalachian State), Ph.D. (Carnegie-Mellon) / Chair for Scholarship in the Public Interest
Donald Goellnicht, B.A. (Queen’s), M.A., Ph.D. (McMaster)
Robert S. Hamilton, M.F.A. (SAIC), M.F.A. (Jan van Eyck Acadamie)
Susan Searls Giroux, B.A., M.A.T. (Miami), Ph.D. (Pennsylvania State) / Associate Vice-President, Faculty
Susie O’Brien, B.A. (Queen’s), M.A. (Queensland), Ph.D. (Queen’s)
Liss Platt, B.F.A. (Connecticut), M.F.A. (California)
Peter Walmsley, B.A., M.A. (Toronto), Ph.D. (Cambridge) / Chair of English and Cultural Studies

Associate Professors

Nadine Attewell, B.A. (Toronto), M.A., Ph.D. (Cornell)
Sara Bannerman, B. Mus. (Queen’s), M.A., Ph.D. (Carleton) / Canada Research Chair in Communication Policy & Governance, Co-Director, Ph.D. in CNMCS
Amber Dean, B.A. (Alberta), M.A. (Simon Fraser), Ph.D. (Alberta) / Co-Director, Ph.D. in CNMCS
Terence Flynn, B.A. (Carleton), M.S., Ph.D. (Syracuse)
Paula Gardner, B.A. (SUNY), M.A. (NSSR), Ph.D. (UMass) / Asper Chair in Communications
Catherine Graham, B.A., M.A., Ph.D. (McGill)
Faiza Hirji, B.A. (Simon Fraser), M.A., Ph.D. (Carleton)
Andrew Mactavish, B.A. (Mount St. Vincent), M.A. (Dalhousie), Ph.D. (Alberta)
David Ogborn, B.A., B.Sc. (Mary), B.Mus. (Manitoba), M.Mus. (Toronto), Mus.Doc. (Toronto)
Christine Quail, B.A., M.A. (Pennsylvania), Ph.D. (Oregon)
Anne Savage, B.A. (Calgary), Ph.D. (London)
Philip Savage, B.A. (Carleton), M.A. (Simon Fraser), Ph.D. (York)
Alexandre Sévigny, B.A. (York), M.A., Ph.D. (Toronto)
David Harris Smith, M.F.A. (York), Ph.D. (York)
Eugenia A. Zuroski, B.A. (Columbia), M.A., Ph.D. (Brown)

Assistant Professors

Lyndsey Beutin, B.A. (Duke), M.A., Ph.D. (UPenn)
Dilyana Mincheva, B.A., M.A. (Sofia), Ph.D. (Trent)
Selina Mudavanhu, B.A., M.A. (Zimbabwe), Ph.D. (Cape Town)
Chris Myhr, B.A. (Simon Fraser), B.F.A. (Lethbridge), M.F.A. (NSCAD)